1956 - The first accountancy programme was introduced in 1956 with the establishment of RIDA College in Jalan Othman, Petaling Jaya, inspired by Dato’ Onn Jaffar. As a government agency, it served to alleviate the socio-economic status of rural Bumiputeras by providing training and educational opportunities. The programme introduced was the London Chambers of Commerce and Industry (LCCI), a UK accounting programme, then followed by the Australian Society of Accountants (ASA). 5 years later, RIDA ran the Institute of Costs and Works Accountants (CIMA/ICWA), also a UK recognized accounting programme.

1965 - The indication of RIDA’s prominent role as a leader of education and scholarship for the people materialised when it became MARA College in 1965 to consolidate the government’s efforts of national development.

1967 - Later on, the findings of a manpower survey conducted by the government in collaboration with the United Nations highlighted a crucial shortage of professional and semi-professional Bumiputeras in the workforce. As a result, MARA College was given a 300-acre plot of land in Shah Alam as the new campus site and designated with the important task of training Bumiputeras to meet the requirements of an increasingly demanding job market. On 14 October 1967, the late Tun Abdul Razak laid the foundation stone and MARA College was renamed as Institut Teknologi MARA (ITM). In June 1967, the ITM Act was passed and its administration was placed under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Education. Two more new programmes were offered in that year i.e. the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) and the Diploma in Accountancy (DIA).


1970 - The Shah Alam campus was operational in 1970 and the School moved to Level 9 and 10 of the Multi Storey building. In 1978, the Malaysian Association of Certified Public Accountants (MACPA) was introduced. Another important programme, the Advanced Diploma in Accountancy (ADIA) was offered for the first time in 1981.

The DIA programme was designed to produce semi professionals in the field of accountancy. The ADIA, ICWA (now known as Chartered Institute of Management Accountant (CIMA)), ACCA and MACPA (now known as the Malaysian Institute of Certified Public Accountants (MICPA)) have been structured to meet the nation’s increasing need for accountants. These programmes were conducted on full-time as well as on part-time basis. The part-time programmes were offered to provide opportunities to those working in accounting related areas.





1984 - In 1984, the School was allocated a new building at Academic 2 Building due to the tremendous growth in its students and staff population as well as the increasing number of accounting programmes being offered.

1988 - In the mid 1980s, our country experienced an economic recession resulting in serious unemployment problem. The School of Accountancy took the initiative to train local and foreign unemployed graduates in accounting and tax consultancy by offering the Certificate of Taxation programme. The School of Accountancy collaborated with the Public Services Department, Inland Revenue Board and Universiti Pertanian Malaysia (UPM) to run the programme between 1988 until 1991. This specialised programme enabled the graduates to operate as tax agents by applying license from the Ministry of Finance.

1996 - The enormous responsibility of managing and educating such a large and diverse student population called for an amendment in the ITM Act in 1996.The amendment put ITM at par with other institutions of higher learning in the country i.e. it bestowed ITM with the autonomy to function as a full university albeit no change in name. When the ITM Act was amended in 1996, the ADIA programme was renamed as the Bachelor Of Accountancy (Hons). The School of Accountancy became known as the Faculty of Accountancy.

1998 - Due to the economic crisis in the late 1990s, Majlis Amanah Rakyat (MARA) sought help from the faculty to run an accounting programme specially for its Junior MARA Science College students. This programme was the Fast Track DIA and BAcc (Hons) in collaboration with MARA and Centre of Preparatory Studies, UiTM. This program was first offered in 1998.The amendment of the ITM Act also saw more programmes at the postgraduate level being offered by the faculty. Among them were: Master of Accountancy (UiTM/Curtin), Master of Accountancy UiTM, Master of Accounting and Information Systems UiTM/UniSA, Master of Accountancy by course work, Master of Accountancy by research and PhD in Accountancy.

2000 - In 2000, Faculty of Accountancy moved to Section 17 campus. In 2002 the faculty expanded its professional programme by offering Certified Accounting Technicians (CAT), Certified Practising Accountants (CPA Australia) and Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ICSA).

In view of the WCU aspiration, the faculty introduced a parallel programme known as Fast Track BAcc (Hons)/MICPA in 2003. In its effort to integrate the fields of accounting and information technology, the faculty proactively designed the Diploma in Accounting Information Systems (DAIS). This new programme was offered in 2004.

DAIS is designed not only for those wishing for a career in accounting and finance but also for graduates wishing to take up employment in more general management position particularly in those areas relating to information systems and technology. The programme currently runs at 3 branch campuses – Perlis, Terengganu and Melaka.


2004 - 2014 - Due to the increasing number of accounting programmes offered and students population, in mid 2004, the Faculty of Accountancy moved to Menara Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Building and occupies Level 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 and 14 of the building. Level 14 accomodate Professional Programmes; Level 12 for Admin office, Accounting Research Institute, PhD Room and Classes for Masters students; Level 11 for Academic office, Level 4, 7, 8, and 10 for classes and Lecturers room.











Former Dean


1969 - 2017

1969 - 1971

En. Sofi Mohd Noor

1971 - 1972

Looi Kum Yaw

1972 - 1982

Abdullah Hj Ghazali

1982 - 1988

Prof. Dr. Syed Noh Syed Ahmad

1988 - 1992

En. Mustaffa Md Yassin

1992 - 2001

Prof. Dr. Juhari Samidi

2001 - 2011

Prof. Dr. Ibrahim Kamal Abdul Rahman

2011 - 2017

Profesor Dr. Rozainun Hj. Abdul Aziz  P.M.K



1956.jpg 1960.jpg 1965.jpg

1966.jpg 1967.jpg 1970a.jpg

1970b.jpg 1970c.jpg 1972.jpg

1973a.jpg 1973b.jpg 1976.jpg